The Fall of Berlin, winner of the Stalin Prize (with links)

For those interested that great film, Padenie Berlina (The Fall of Berlin), parts one and two are now available for download. And you don’t even need to agree to download the (possibly dodgy) software the site suggests. The film is unique, not only as the first film about the Second World War, but also because Stalin himself chose the actors, had a large hand in the script, and appeared in it himself.

To complete the circle, it also won the Stalin Prize, first degree. The world is a poorer place without the Stalin prize, so I suggest it be restored.


11 thoughts on “The Fall of Berlin, winner of the Stalin Prize (with links)

  1. In the business we call show, Comrade Marshall Uncle Stalin was an amateur compared to the Dear Leader Kim Jong Il, sir. Any award issued in his name would only reflect that inferiority. Not only has the Dear Leader written many influential tracts on the science of cinema, including ‘Let us create more revolutionary films based on socialist life’ and ‘On thoroughly applying the principlesof socialist pedagogy in education in the cinema’, but through his creative genius, he attracted to free Korea some of the finest creative talents from the impoverished American plantation of south Korea and the fascist lagoon of Japan. How can anyone forget Shin Sang Ok’s “Pulgasari”?

    Without first thoroughly acquainting ourselves with the revolutionary film theories of the Dear Leader, my fear is that the Stalin Prize will be as derided as the Confucian Prize. Having said this, “Rise of the Planet of the Apes” is the only 2011 film I found to be in sufficient socialist spirit to be a contender for the Prize. The monkey learns to speak and wear people clothes. When will the monkey that is the global proletariat and his worker-peasant comrades, indeed, learn to wear people clothes.

    1. Unfortunately, your deer (sorry, dear) leader has nowhere near the global renown of Iosef. And how about a non-Hollywood film for nomination?

      For your education, BY, the list of winners in film alone is a useful guide:

      Grigori Aleksandrov, Isaak Dunayevsky, and Lyubov Orlova: film Circus (1936)
      Grigori Aleksandrov, Nikolai Erdman, Isaak Dunayevsky, Lyubov Orlova, and Igor Ilyinsky: film Volga-Volga (1938)
      Hamo Beknazarian, Avet Avetisyan, and Hrachia Nersisyan: film Zangezur (1938)
      Mikheil Chiaureli and Spartak Bagashvili: film Arsena (1937)
      Mikheil Chiaureli and Mikheil Gelovani: film The Great Dawn (1938)
      Mark Donskoy and Varvara Massalitinova: films Childhood of Maxim Gorky (1938) and On His Own (1939)
      Alexander Dovzhenko, Yevgeny Samoylov, and Ivan Skuratov: film Shchors (1939)
      Efim Dzigan: film We from Kronstadt (1936)
      Efim Dzigan and Vsevolod Vishnevsky: film If War Comes Tomorrow (1938)
      Sergei Eisenstein, Pyotr Pavlenko, Nikolay Cherkasov, and Andrei Abrikosov: film Alexander Nevsky (1938)
      Fridrikh Ermler, Nikolay Bogolyubov, and Aleksandr Zrazhevsky: film The Great Citizen (1938-1939)
      Sergei Gerasimov and Tamara Makarova: film The New Teacher (1939)
      Yevgeni Ivanov-Barkov, Alty Karliyev, and Nina Alisova: film Dursun (1941)
      Iosif Kheifits and Aleksandr Zarkhi: film Baltic Deputy (1937)
      Grigori Kozintsev, Leonid Trauberg, and Boris Chirkov: films The Youth of Maxim (1935), The Return of Maxim (1937), and The Vyborg Side (1939)
      Leonid Lukov and Pavel Nilin: film A Great Life (Part I) (1934)
      Vladimir Petrov, Nikolai Simonov, and Mikhail Zharov: film Peter the First (1937-1938)
      Vsevolod Pudovkin, Mikhail Doller, Boris Livanov, and Aleksandr Khanov: film Minin and Pozharsky (1939)
      Vsevolod Pudovkin, Mikhail Doller, Nikolai Cherkasov-Sergeyev, and Aleksandr Khanov: film Suvorov (1941)
      Ivan Pyryev, Nikolai Kryuchkov, and Marina Ladynina: film Tractor-Drivers (1939)
      Yuli Raizman, Ivan Peltser, and Nikolai Dorokhin: film Last Night (1937)
      Gerbert Rappaport, Aleksandr Ivanovsky, Sergei Lemeshev, and Erast Garin: film Musical Story (1940)
      Mikhail Romm, Aleksei Kapler, Boris Shchukin, and Nikolai Okhlopkov: films Lenin in October (1937) and Lenin in 1918 (1939)
      Nikoloz Shengelaya: film Eliso (1928)
      Nikoloz Shengelaya and Nato Vachnadze: film Orange Valley (1937)
      Georgi Vasilyev, Sergei Vasilyev, and Boris Babochkin: film Chapaev (1939)
      Sergei Yutkevich and Leonid Lyubashevsky: film Yakov Sverdlov (1940)
      Aleksandr Zguridi, Gleb Troyanski, and Boris Dolin: documentary film In the Depths of the Sea (1938)
      Aleksandr Zguridi and Gleb Troyanski: documentary film Force of Life (1940)
      Ilya Kopalin: documentary film On Danube (1940)

      Tikhon Khrennikov: Music to the film The Swineherd and the Shepherd

      Sergei Eisenstein: cinema, for Ivan the Terrible, Part I

      The crew of the film Secret Agent

      Sergei Gerasimov, Vladimir Rapoport, Vladimir Ivanov, Inna Makarova, Nonna Mordyukova, Sergei Gurzo, Lyudmila Shagalova, and Viktor Khokhryakov for the film The Young Guard (1948)

      Nikolai Cherkasov: for the film Alexander Popov (the role of Alexander Popov).
      Bruno Freindlich: for the film Alexander Popov (the role of Guglielmo Marconi).
      Vladimir Belokurov: film Zhukovsky (1950)
      Faina Ranevskaya: for the film U nih est’ Rodina (They Have Their Motherland)

      1. We must move beyond the Stalinist baroque to prove that Stalinism is the objectively correct ideology of the 2010s as well as the 1930s. Progress must be rewarded, not mere nostalgia.

        We will, therefore, award the inaugural Stalin Prize for architecture to Ai Weiwei for the Olympic bird’s nest stadium. Then, upon recognizing him as an enemy of the people and rightist terrorist, we will eradicate all references to the fact that we awarded the inaugural Stalin Prize for architecture to Ai Weiwei for the Olympic bird’s nest stadium.

        It is frankly absurd for anyone to claim that the inaugural Stalin Prize for architecture was awarded to Ai Weiwei for the Olympic bird’s nest stadium since all reliable contemporary sources clearly indicate that the inaugural Stalin Prize for architecture was awarded to the Sheriff Sport institute of Tiraspol, Pridnestrovian Moldavian Republic.

  2. There’s plenty of fantastic Stalin baroque on Karl Marx Allee here in East Berlin. I would have photographed it yesterday but it was hailing and raining. There we may find our model for assessing other architecture. Apartments are for sale there, quite cheaply, so now’s the time to snap them up. Actually no, wait for the euro to crash and then …

  3. May I suggest as frontrunners for this year’s prize Le Havre, from Kaurismaki, and The Autobiography of Nicolae Ceausescu?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.