Came across this at the Xinhua news site recently. Some dude has done the requisite research and come up – at long last – with a cure for jetlag. It all has to do with periods of light and darkness after that regular half-way around the world trip. If you regulate those periods after arrival, plonking yourself in the sun for a specified period and then closing the curtains and donning sun glasses at another. Should the sun not be shining, then done one of these, with the light beaming into your eyes:headlight

 

In order to calculate exactly when and for how long one needs to do this, there’s a handy website, called Jet Lag Rooster. You simply insert your point of origin and time of departure, followed by the destination and time of arrival. And voila! For instance, for my recent return to Australia, I am advised to do the following:

Hi traveller,

Your flight has a time zone shift of 10 hours. There is a risk of jet lag.

Follow the suggestions below until you are sleeping well at night and alert during the day.

To reduce jet lag:

Sun, 6 Jan 2013
7:00 PM Depart, set watch 10 hours ahead (5:00 AM)
Tue, 8 Jan 2013
7:30 AM Arrive
10:00 AM–2:00 PM Seek light
2:00 PM–6:00 PM Avoid light
Wed, 9 Jan 2013
11:30 AM–3:30 PM Seek light
3:30 PM–7:30 PM Avoid light
Thu, 10 Jan 2013
1:00 PM–5:00 PM Seek light
5:00 PM–9:00 PM Avoid light
Fri, 11 Jan 2013
2:30 PM–6:30 PM Seek light
6:30 PM–10:30 PM Avoid light
Sat, 12 Jan 2013
4:00 PM–8:00 PM Seek light
8:00 PM–12:00 AM Avoid light
Sun, 13 Jan 2013
5:30 PM–9:30 PM Seek light
9:30 PM–1:30 AM Avoid light
Mon, 14 Jan 2013
7:00 PM–11:00 PM Seek light
11:00 PM–3:00 AM Avoid light
Tue, 15 Jan 2013
8:30 PM–12:30 AM Seek light
Wed, 16 Jan 2013
12:30 AM–4:30 AM Avoid light
10:00 PM–2:00 AM Seek light
Thu, 17 Jan 2013
2:00 AM–6:00 AM Avoid light

All very well, but I can imagine a situation – at a conference say, or for work – when you have to say suddenly, ‘Excuse me, but I need to enter my period of darkness now’. And note how long you are supposed to do this: 10 days! Doesn’t jetlag usually pass in 4 or 5 days?

I guess it beats the Ostrich pillow:

wamnker

Advertisements